## **COMMISSION 28**

PRESIDENT VICE-PRESIDENT PAST PRESIDENT ORGANIZING COMMITTEE GALAXIES (GALAXIES)

Françoise Combes Roger Davies Elaine Sadler Avishai Dekel, Marijn Franx, Jay Gallagher, Valentina Karachentseva, Gill Knapp, Renee Kraan- Korteweg, Bruno Leibundgut, Naomasa Nakai, Jayant Narlikar, Monica Rubio

# PROCEEDINGS BUSINESS SESSION, on 12 August 2009

#### 1. Introduction

Commission 28 members were busy during this General Assembly, with the Commission directly involved in two Symposia (IAU Symposium 262: Stellar populations, planning for the next decade, and IAU Symposium 267 Evolution of galaxies and central black holes, feeding and feedback) and five Joint Discussions (JD01 Dark matter in early type galaxies, JD05 Modelling the Milky Way in the era of GAIA, JD08 Hot interstellar matter in elliptical galaxies, JD12 The first galaxies, theoretical predictions and observational clues, JD14 FIR2009, the ISM of galaxies in the far-infrared and the submillimeter). Because of the tight schedule, our business session was combined with the Division VIII Business Meeting, which included a short information session introducing the new Commission 28 Organizing Committee. The triennial report of the Commission for 2006-8 was also distributed, and is available on the Commission 28 web page.

# 2. New Commission 28 Organizing Committee

The outgoing President of Commission 28 introduced the new Organizing Committee for 2009-12: Roger L. Davies (President, UK), John S. Gallagher (Vice-President, USA), Stephane Courteau (Canada), Avishai Dekel (Israel), Marijn Franx (the Netherlands), Chanda Jog (India), Sharda Jogee (USA), Naomasa Nakai (Japan), Monica Rubio (Chile), Linda Tacconi (Germany), Elena Terlevich (Mexico), and Francoise Combes (Past President, France). It was noticed that, among the 12 members, exactly 50% are women, ensuring a perfect gender balance.

### 3. Closing remarks

All information concerning Commission 28 (Newsletters, reports, etc.) are for the moment posted on the website: http://aramis.obspm.fr/IAU28/index.php. The new website will be indicated there in due time.

Françoise Combes President of the Commission

119